The Research Advisory Council collaborates with the associate dean for research to support and grow the research enterprise in the College of Health and Human Sciences (HHS).


  • The associate dean for research (ADR) will serve as chair.
  • Faculty members will be appointed by the dean with input from the department heads and the associate dean for research.
  • To ensure broad representation of the college on this committee, each unit will have two members. Members will be diverse in all ways, including gender, race/ethnicity and research area.
  • The senior research development administrator will serve as a non-voting member of the committee.
  • The administrative assistant to the ADR will serve as a support person, assisting with meeting scheduling, meeting minutes and other administrative duties.

Committee Members

  • Cammie McBride, (Chair), Associate Dean for Research
  • Patrick Hein, Administration, Senior Research Development Administrator                                                              
  • Sharon Christ, Associate Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Studies
  • Bruno Roseguini, Associate Professor, Department of Health and Kinesiology
  • Jonathan Shannahan, Assistant Professor, School of Health Sciences
  • Xinran Lehto, Professor, Department of Hospitality and Tourism Management
  • Vicki Simpson, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
  • Kimberly Buhman, Professor and DEI liaison, Department of Nutrition Science
  • Julia Chester, Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences
  • Yumary Ruiz, Associate Professor, Department of Public Health
  • Georgia Malandraki, Professor, Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

For more information about the College of Health and Human Sciences Research Advisory Committee, please contact us at hhsadresearch@purdue.edu